Saint Raphael Academy Welcome to the Saints family. Welcome home.

Gaboriault and Wagner Recognized for Public Service

June 8, 2018

Saint Raphael Academy juniors Emily Gaboriault and Theresa Wagner were recognized for their leadership and contributions to the local community by two different organizations in recent weeks.

Last month, Secretary of State Nellie M. Gorbea honored Emily and Theresa with the 2018 Rhode Island Civic Leadership Award. And just last week, the pair also received the Pawtucket Teen Hall of Fame Award.

The Rhode Island Civic Leadership Award is given annually at a State House ceremony to high school students who have made outstanding contributions to their schools and communities over the past year.

High schools from around Rhode Island nominated two students who best meet the ideals of the award, including public service, leadership ability, and academic achievement. Nearly 150 students were honored for work ranging from volunteering to help end hunger and homelessness in Rhode Island to working with students with disabilities to leadership roles in their student government.
The Pawtucket Teen Hall of Fame Award is given to a select group of Pawtucket residents who make a difference in their community. Emily was nominated by her guidance counselor, Miss Hackbarth, and Theresa was nominated by her guidance counselor, Mrs. Murphy.

When it came time to consider their nomination, it was almost obvious. “They are standouts on campus, as far as we’re concerned,” Mrs. Murphy said of herself, Miss Hackbarth, and Mr. Vargas, Lasallian Youth Director. Emily and Theresa are active in Lasallian Youth, which does much of its service in the Pawtucket community, and both frequently volunteer at the Pawtucket Soup Kitchen. Emily also began a recycling program at the Academy this year. Theresa has been class president for the last three years and was recently re-elected president for her senior year, while Emily has been a class officer for three years and will serve as president of the student council her senior year. Both girls are also involved with the Drama Club and are consistent honor roll students.